What precautions against Ebola have been enacted?

As of September 22, 2014, the following precautions have been enacted by East Africa and Southern Africa countries:


Entry has been suspended for travelers who have visited Liberia, Guinea, Nigeria and Sierra Leone in the last 30 days.


With the exception of Kenyan citizens and doctors or health care professionals supporting the containment of the outbreak, entry has been suspended for people traveling through or from the countries of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.

Entry has been suspended for all of those travelling from countries affected by the Ebola virus, with the exception of Namibian citizens.

Entry is not allowed to any travelers who have visited Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone within 22 days. Health screening is in place at all border posts. Non-residents registering a fever will not be allowed entry to Rwanda.

South Africa
South Africa will not allow admittance to any foreign citizens arriving from Ebola affected countries in west Africa. South African citizens will be allowed to re-enter, but only after being subject to strict screening.

All major border posts have mandatory health screening in place, including all international airports. Emergency isolation centers have been set aside for suspected cases.

People traveling from affected west African countries and the DR Congo must undergo health screening at Entebbe Airport. An isolation center has been established at the airport for any suspected Ebola cases.

Zambia has banned entrance to all travelers from affected west African countries.

Travelers from affected countries must undergo mandated 21-day health surveillance for Ebola symptoms.


Tags: Ebola
Last update:
2018-02-08 09:03
United Travel Group
Average rating: 3.33 (6 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry

Chuck Norris has counted to infinity. Twice.